© 2018 by American Musical Instrument Society | Terms | Privacy | Refund Policy | 

2019 AMIS Award Winners

The Curt Sachs Award

The 2019 Curt Sachs Award was presented to Elizabeth Wells. As curator of the Royal College of Music Collection of Instruments for over forty years, Ms. Wells headed the development of a museum for display, conservation, and documentation of the instruments; expanded the collection through important new acquisitions; produced catalogues of wind, keyboard, and stringed instruments in the collection.

Elizabeth Wells

The Nicholas Bessaraboff Prize

The 2019 Nicholas Bessaraboff Prize for best book-length publication that furthers the society’s mission was awarded to Pascale Vandervellen and colleagues for the book The Golden Age of Flemish Harpsichord Making: A Study of the MIM’s Ruckers Instruments (Brussels: Musical Instruents Museum, 2017). This collective effort of scholarship respresents the culmination of sustained, original, wide-ranging research into the work and instruments of the Ruckers dynasty. Beautifully produced, generously illustrated and thoughtfully organized and presented, this volume stands out both for the depth and breadth of material presented. In addition to Vandervellen, the other authors are: Alexandra de Poortet, Stephane Vaïedelich, Karel Moens, Marcel Vekemans, John Koster, Emily Akkermans, Patrick Storme, Steven Saverwyns, Marina Van Bos, Sandie Le Conte, Arjan Versteeg, Pascale Fraiture, Armelle Weitz, Philippe Gerrienne, and Alain Anselm.

Pascale Vandervellen

The Frances Densmore Prize

Robert Adelson’s article, “‘A Museum of Its Own’ – The Musical Instrument Collection of Antonio Guatier (1825-1904) in Nice” published in the Galpin Society Journal, Volume LXX, 2017, is the recipient of the 2019 Frances Densmore Prize. It is an in-depth investigation of Gautier’s life and activities (as a musician and civic leader as well as a collector) based on numerous recently discovered sources and enhanced by the author’s residence in the same city where his subject lived and his intimate knowledge of this collection.

Robert Adelson

The Frederick R. Selch Award

Saskia received the 2019 Selch award for her paper “The Side-Saddle Seating Position and Its Relationship to the Popularization of the Cello Endpin during the Victorian Era.”

Saskia Maxwell Keller