Awards / Grants

The Curt Sachs Award

The Curt Sachs Award, named for one of the founders of the modern systematic study of musical instruments, was established by the American Musical Instrument Society to honor those who have made important contributions toward the goals of the Society. The Award may be made annually at the discretion of the Society's Board of Governors. All members in good standing are eligible to nominate recipients of the Award to the Board of Governors, which shall have final responsibility to select the recipient. No more than one Award may be bestowed during any calendar year. As the presentation of the Award is an integral part of the annual spring meeting of the Society, all nominations for consideration for each meeting must be submitted by the preceding October 1st. The Curt Sachs Award consists of a certificate duly signed on behalf of the Society which recites the recipient's contributions to the study of musical instruments. The President will announce the Award at the annual meeting and the recipient will be invited to attend and to address the Society.

Questions or nominations? Contact

2019 Recipient

Elizabeth Wells

The 2019 Curt Sachs Award was presented to Elizabeth Wells. As curator of the Royal College of Music Collection of Instruments for over forty years, Ms. Wells headed the development of a museum for display, conservation, and documentation of the instruments; expanded the collection through important new acquisitions; produced catalogues of wind, keyboard, and stringed instruments in the collection.

Previous Recipients




© 2020 by American Musical Instrument Society | Terms | Privacy | Refund Policy |